Glo-CAF Awards: Amuneke, Osimhen makes list

2015 FIFA Under-17 World Cup top scorer and member of the victorious Nigeria’s Under-23 Dream Team at the just ended Olympics football qualifying tournament in Senegal,  Victor Osimhen, is among the players shortlisted for best youth player of the year award by the Confederation of African Football (CAF).

Although no Nigerian footballer is listed among the last three CAF announced monday for the Player of the year Award, Osimhen’s cameo appearances for the Dream Team in Senegal puts  him in vantage position to compete for the youth award ahead of  Adama Traore of Mali, Kelechi Nwakali of Nigeria, Samuel Diarra of Mali, and Yaw Yeboha of Ghana.

The three players who made the list for the Player of the year Award announced by CAF Executive Committee Member, Mr. Moucharafou Anjorin, include;  Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang of Gabon & Borrussia Dortmund of Germany, four-time African Player of the Year, Yaya Toure of Cote d’Ivoire and Manchester City and Andrew Ayew of Ghana and Swansea City FC.

The King will be crowned at the Awards Night bankrolled by sponsor Globacom at the International Convention Centre, in Abuja on January 7,  2016.

CAF also release the names of top three finalists for the Africa-based ‘Player of the Year’ Award. They are: Mbwana Aly Samatta of Tanzania and TP Mazembe, Baghdad Bounedjah of Algeria and Etoile du Sahel and Robert Kidiaba of Democratic Republic of Congo and TP Mazembe.

The list was prepared through a vigorous selection process by the Technical, Football and Media Committees of CAF, taking into account the performance of the players for their national teams and clubs from January to November of each year.

Also released is the list of nominees for other categories of the Awards. Nominated for Women Player of the Year are the duo of Gabrielle Onguene and Gaelle Enganamouit of Cameroun, Ngozi Ebere of Nigeria, N’rehy Tia Ines of Cote d’Ivoire and Ghana’s Portia Boakye.

For the Coach of the Year Award, Baye Ba of Mali Under-17 team, Emmanuel Amuneke of Nigeria’s Under-17 team, Fawzi Benzarti of Etoile Sportive de Sahel, Herve Renard of Cote dIvoire and Patrice Carteron of TP Mazembe were nominated while Azubuike Okechukwu of Nigeria, Djigui Diarra of Mali, Etebo Oghenekaro of Nigeria, Mahmoud Abdelmonem of Egypt, and Zinedine Ferhat of Algeria were shortlisted for the Most Promising Player of Year Award.

Others are African Legend Award which will be decided between Charles Kumi Gyamfi of Ghana and Samuel Mbappe Leppe of Cameroon and National Team of the Year Award which will be contested for by Cote d’Ivoire, Ghana, Mali U-17, Nigeria U-17 and Nigeria U-23 teams. is your one-stop online news magazine blog. We report credible information as they happen. Follow us on Facebook and Twitter to get Latest Information.

Leave a Reply